THOUGHTS: The Future of Fashion

I wanted to wait to post this until I did more research…

But a preliminary rant is necessary before I go deep into my thoughts on the future of fashion and where I think it should and is going.

Beyond style and color there are so many facets that will effect the future of fashion.  To me what is most important is how can we make the industry sustainable.

How will climate change, resource shortages, population growth and other factors shape the fashion industry?

Questions like this has lead me down a rabbit hole of research. From things like the slow fashion movement to social ___ I have a lot to take in and process.

For now, what is necessary is to point out how this tangent on the future of fashion started. I have always been interested in trend forecasting but now I am looking at the bigger picture.

Flipping through the Spring Couture fashion shows this season what stood out to me besides the stunning fashion was a review on style.com. The Maison Martin Margiela show itself was stunning but what I found most amazing was the craftsmanship and idea behind the collection itself.

” ‘Masion Martin Margiela was’ asking compelling questions about what constitutes value in fashion, and celebrating the craft of the hand. In fetishizing the production process (detailing the provenance and the production time), it’s creating a fashion equivalent of the Slow Food movement.” – Tim Blanks

This statement sparked  something in me. I have always wanted the industry to be more sustainable, but seeing it come to life on a couture runway made my passion even more real.  Thus beginning my never ending spiral down the hole researching and researching until finally I am ranting on a blog that I created purely for this instance.

To rant and think and motivate and inspire.

_ON_0137.450x675 _ON_0254.450x675 _ON_0317.450x675 MMM_0080.450x675 MMM_0094.450x675 MMM_0146.450x675 MMM_0334.450x675 *images from style.com

I researched a bit more about Maison Martin Margiela and found this description of the fashion house.

Often referred to as iconoclastic, avant-garde and experimental, Maison Martin Margiela, founded in 1988, expresses its creativity through recycling, transformation and reinterpretation – like an emotion, a unique and timeless proposal defying all laws and rules.

The couture collection began to make more sense, if only more high end designers had this innovative way of thinking.

Leave a Reply

